Category: Lop buri Province

Lop Buri, formerly known as “Lawo”, was one of the important ancient towns of the Khmers from the 10th-13th century. Many Khmer ruins are found in and around this town. During the Ayutthaya period, King Narai the Great established Lop Buri as the second capital with the help of French architects. Most of the architecture of that time reflects the mixture of Thai and Western styles.

Wat San Paulo

This is situated on Ruam Decho Road, some 1.5 Kms. east of the town. It was originally a church of the Jesuits founded during the reign of King Narai, and also the first observatory in Asia. Now only a brick wall of a high tower remains behind the church site. The name “San Paulo” called by Thais probably derive from “Saint Paul”.

Lop Buri Zoo

This 25-acre enclave is near Sa Kaeo circle. The zoo includes favourite Asian and Australian birds and mammals. The most unusual spectacle is that of three tigers and four dogs living in unique harmony and the love story of a couple of orangutans.

Wat Yang Na Rangsi

This temple is located by the Lop Buri River, 9 kms. South of the town centre on the Lop Buri-Bang Pahan route. The four Buddha images made of sandstone and quartz in the temple could have been built during the Lawo period. The old wooden teaching hall was built in 1927 in a typical style of the rural central region. After the restoration in 1998, it was turned into a local boat museum. A collection of local boats and oars in various types are displayed, particularly a rare one-seat barge, which plied local waterways in the old days.

Wat Lai

This Ayutthaya period temple is located on the bank of the Bang Kham River, Amphoe Tha Wung, some 24 kms. from the town. It is noted for a chapel decorated with stucco in various motifs, depicting Lord Buddha’s previous life story and the first sermon. The exquisite craftmanship makes this a masterpiece of Thai sculpture.

Nam Tok Wang Kan Luang

This 10-tiered waterfall is about 12 kms. from the Lam Narai Market, Amphoe Chai Badan via Route No. 2089. Thanks to a nearby underground water source, a flow of water is visible all year round.

King Narai National Museum

This museum was established in 1924 by with the Phra Narai Ratchaniwet as its exhibition halls. Currently, three historical buildings are used to display various art objects, including an impressive collection of Lop Buri-style sculpture and Khmer, Dvaravati, U-Thong and Ayutthaya arts. In addition, traditional agricultural tools, including ploughs, carts, grain separators and fish traps, are on display in different buildings. The Museum opens daily except Monday and Tuesday, from 9.00a.m. to 4.00p.m. Admission fee is 30 baht. Museum services include: lectures, tour guides, special exhibitions, slides, videos, postcards, books and a gift shop.

Ban Hin Song Kon

Lop Buri is well-known for the production of the only best quality Din So Phong – marl – of Thailand. The source of production is at Hin Song Kon Village, Thale Chup Son Sub-district (by Khlong Chonlaprathan, around Saphan 6). It is the village where Din So Phong is produced in nearly every house. In that compound, there is white marl with a delicate and tight texture and thus, is not suitable for agriculture. However, due to local intellect, it has been used to produce Din So Phong which can be a raw material for many products such as talcum powder, cosmetics, toothpaste, furniture filler, etc. Contact Address: Thale Chup Son Subdistrict Administrative Organization Tel: 0 3661 1438

Bee Farm

The center distributes information and knowledge on Bee cultivation in Thailand. It is also a place where natural bees products including royal jelly, honey (from sunflower, natural honey extracts, etc.) and other honey-related products are on sale. Located on Soi 24 Sai Tri, Mo 9 Phatthana Nikhom District, Lop Buri 15220

Kachornvit Mushroom Farm

It is Located at 71/1 Mu 6 Nikhom Sang Toneng Sub-District, Mueang District. Since its establishment in 1981, the Mushroom Farm has developed its technology to grow high-quality organic mushrooms using EM microbe. Visitors can take a short tour of the farm or sample several kinds of preserved mushrooms which are also available for sale. Farm-stay accommodations are available but reservations must be made in advance. Call 036 652442 or 07 0710683 for more details.

Ban Kluai

The village is well known for its carefully woven Mat Mi. The art of weaving Mat Mi has been handed down over generations for more than 135 years. The distinct features of Ban Kluais Mat Mi are its unique pattern and supreme quality.