This compact provincial town serves mainly as an accommodation and shopping center. Splendid colonial-style residences built by late 19th-century tin and rubber barons and shophouses from the same period provide a distinctive character.
This small hill to the north of the town offers a pleasant view of the town and boasts Thailand’s first fitness park, a series of hillside sculptural tableaux which enhance keep fit calisthenics.
This small island which is separated from the mainland only by the Tha Chin Canal, is located 4 kms. northeast of the town. There is a sea gypsy village considered the biggest in Phuket.
Drive for 3 kms. from the town along Yaowarat Road and then turn left at the Sam Kong village intersection. It has a fascinating collection of such tropical creatures as butterflies, insects, fish and coral all arranged in a natural surrounding.
Located on Thepkasattri Road about 3 kms. from the town, it offers cultural performances demonstrating the Thai way of life with folk dances, Thai boxing, the unique aspects of Phuket and the South, a handicraft centre, an orchid farm, and an elephant show. show times are 11.00 a.m. and 5.30 p.m.
This contains an exciting aquarium with some 1,000 marine, freshwater and estuarine crocodiles and is located just outside of the town. It is open daily from 9.00 a.m. – 5.30 p.m.
stands in the south of the town at the area called Saphan Hin, the end of Phuket Road. It was constructed in 1969 as a memorial to Mr. Miles, who devised the use of a dredger in mining operations in 1909.
It is located near Phuket International Airport along Route Nos. 402 and 4026, some 30 kms. from town. The park occupies a total area of 90 square kilometres and has an uninterrupted 13 km. long stretch of beaches; Hat Nai Thon, Hat Nai Yang, Hat Mai Khao, and Hat Sai Kaeo.
This temple where the upper half of a large Buddha statue emerges from the ground is 20 kms. north of the town along Highway 402. Legend has it that during the invasion of Thailand in 1785, the Burmese tried in vain to excavate the statue. Each time they dug into the ground, swarms of hornets would swoop on them and they had to give up. Later, the visible part of the statue was covered with gold by the villagers and has remained as such until today.
This historical temple in Amphoe Thalang was once a fort resisting a Burmese invasion around 1785. An old chapel in the compound enshrined the three oldest and largest Buddha statues made of tin, called the Three Kings.