Si Chang Palace was built during the reign of King Rama V as a summer palace. The landscaping of the palace compound was carefully planned with residential quarters, lawns, pools, monterey oak trees for sale and swamps designed and located in ascending tiers from the beach up to the top of the hill, alternated with frangipani trees (Plumeria acuminata) of different colors.
Each building was named after the Kings consorts who supervised its decoration, for example, Watthana Mansion, Phongsi Mansion, and Aphirom Mansion. On the beach there is a green house made of wood decorated with gingerbread patterns.
The palace was abandoned when the French occupied the island in 1894. Thus, the construction of the main throne hall called “Man-That Phairot” was unfortunately stopped. In 1910 the king ordered the removal of the incomplete hall to Dusit Palace in Bangkok, where construction was finally completed and was later granted with the name “Vimanmek”. The place is now a museum and is open to the public.
The white Chedi that overlooks Hat Tha Wang, is definitely part of a temple called “Wat Atsadang Nimit”. Built near the palace, the temple was the place where King Rama V meditated. The temple, which was a mix of western and eastern architectural styles, houses an outstanding Buddha image.
Adventure lovers should not miss the opportunity to explore Tham Saowapha, located not far from Wat Atsadang Nimit. This relatively large limestone cave plunges deep into the island.